Financing option available — Learn more


The Diamond is a crystalized form of carbon, the hardest substance known to man. It is called a woman’s best friend; it is strong and regal, but presents to admirers a very delicate image.

Diamonds have extensive industrial applications: they are used in creating cars, cosmetic skin products, even loudspeakers. The earliest evidence of diamonds being used in tools was found in Arikamedu in southeast India. Today, Belgium, Israel, and India, are the largest gem-cutting centers in the world.

Choosing a diamond requires a proper understand of the 4 C’s – Cut, Carat, Color and Clarity. These are the four markers that specialists use to judge a diamond.


The colors of a diamond vary from vibrant reds to faint blues. While these colors sound very appealing, white diamonds are the most popular. There are over 29 different classifications of color grading, which range from D, almost colorless, to Z, which is a shade of light yellow. Diamonds at the higher end of the color scale are more expensive.

Color Grade
Colorless D, E, F
Near colorless G, H, I, J
Faint yellow K, L, M
Very light yellow N, O, P, Q, R
Light yellow S, T, U, V, W, X, Y, Z


A diamond’s cut refers to the stone’s ability to reflect light. A well-cut diamond allows the maximum amount of light to disperse throughout the gem. This is possible only when the diamond is properly cut at the right angle – if it is cut too shallow or deep, the light will escape and the diamond’s true beauty will not be perceived.

A diamond can be cut in various designs that are symbolic to tradition and occasion. The precision of the critical angles and symmetry, proportions and polish, all affect the way the diamond interacts with light. Different cuts include emerald, heart, marquise, princess, pear, oval and round. A well-cut diamond allows the maximum amount of light to penetrate the crown of the diamond and disperse throughout its interior, showcasing its natural beauty.


The carat refers to the weight and size of the diamond, and is often referred to in points. Each carat is divided into one hundred points and equivalent to 0.2grams. As the weight increases so does its value. This is because larger diamonds are rare.

Carat Points
1 100
34 75
12 50
13 33
110 10
120 5
1100 1


The blemishes in most diamonds are invisible to the naked eye. Therefore the clarity of a diamond is determined under 10x magnifications. The number of inclusions on a diamond’s surface determines its clarity grade – from imperfect to flawless. Always make sure a diamond comes with a certificate of authenticity before purchasing. Our grading follows the Gemological Institute of America guidelines.

Grade Quality Explanation
FL Flawless An absolute pure diamond
IF Internally flawless Surface blemishes only, internally pure
VVS1 Very, very slightly included Minute imperfections that are difficult to spot at 10x magnification
VVS2 Very, very slightly included As VVS1, but imperfections are slightly easier to find at 10x magnification
VS1 Very slightly included Minor imperfections that are difficult to spot under 10x magnification
VS2 Very slightly included Minor imperfections that are easier to find under 10x magnification
SI1 Slightly included Imperfections that are easy to see under 10x magnification
SI2 Slightly included Imperfections that are very easy to see under 10x magnification
I1/PK1 Included Obvious imperfections, not affecting the brilliance of the diamond
I2/PK2 Included Obvious imperfections, affecting the brilliance of the diamond
I3/PK3 Included Obvious imperfections that can threaten the diamond's durability